Login | Alumni Registration

Active Members


Active Members Spring 2017

Back Row (L-R):  Carl Branch, Tyler Gustafson, Noah Carroll, Brandon Severns, Daniel Hayes
Front Row (L-R): Kenny Strobel, Eric Branch, Jacob Dahl, Thomas Duff

Executive Team, Fall 2017

President: Daniel Hayes

Vice President:  Kenny Strobel 

Secretary: Brandon Severns

Treasurer:  Daniel Hayes

Counselor: Eric Branch

House Manager: Noah Carroll

The three major law collections in the Hebrew Bible are the Ten Commandments, Covenant, and Deuteronomic laws.  The Ten Commandments are a list of commands from God to Israel given to them through Moses (HBD, 1028).  The first several deal with obligations for the Israelites to God which are accompanied by explanations, the other commandments deal with social issues, usually not mentioning God (OAB, 110).  We usually see the commandments in list form, however in the Hebrew Bible they are not in list form (HBD, 1029).  The Covenant was an agreement between God and the Israelites (HBD, 158).  The Covenant differs from the Ten Commandments in that it has stipulations pertaining to family, society, diet, rituals and agriculture (HBD, 158).  The covenant is considered to be told in a story or narrative (HBD, 158).  The last law collection is the Deuteronomic codes.  The Deuteronomic codes are considered to be an address by Moses (HBD, 194).  The different topics in the Dueteronomic codes consist of definitions of festivals and rituals, along with responsibilities of royal and priestly leaders and obligations of family members and citizens (HBD, 194).